/

新聞稿|《國安法下的香港工會運動:威權統治的兩年》

6 mins read
Hong Kong trade unions hold the banner "Trade unions resists autocracy" in the protest on Jan 1, 2020

《國安法》實施兩年,香港公民社會受到前所未有的打擊,獨立工會運動舉步維艱。

香港勞權監察在《國安法》實施兩周年前夕發表最新報告:《國安法下的香港工會運動:威權統治的兩年》,剖析香港當局如何利用《國安法》打壓獨立工會活動。

報告詳盡記錄香港當局如何濫用條文含糊不清的《國安法》打壓工會,當中打壓模式包括恐嚇、拘捕工會組織者及核心成員,並透嚴苛的殖民地法律等高壓手段限制工會活動,透過滋擾等齷齪手段逼使工會解散。

當局的意圖很明顯,就是要利用《國安法》趕盡香港的獨立工會運動,同時將『國際團結』抹黑成為「勾結外國勢力」,令香港的抗爭運動陷入孤立。

香港勞權監察總幹事蒙兆達

獨立工運頭懸利劍

自《國安法》在2020年六月三十日實施以來,至少有62個工會被迫解散,一個工會被取締撤銷登記,另有11名工會組織者被捕或被檢控,包括前職工盟主席吳敏兒,她自2021年三月起被羈柙,申請保釋但遭《國安法》指定法官拒絕,理由是她參與工會工作,具有國際影響力。在無罪推定的原則下,保釋是被告的基本權利。未經審訊而被長期羈柙令被告未能獲得公平審訊,有違《公民權利及政治權利國際公約》等國際人權法及標準。

報告指出,香港教育專業人員協會(教協)及香港職工會聯盟(職工盟)的解散過程,清晰地勾劃出中共向獨立工會運動施壓三步曲。首先,透官媒鋪天蓋地抹黑組織者、工會核心成員,再由香港執法機關配合,高調宣稱這些工會有可能觸犯《國安法》,最後派出中間人以「約談」等形式要脅,迫使工會組織解散。

以嚴苛的殖民地法例限制工會活動

除了《國安法》外,報告發現當局也日益使用不同的殖地民地時代法例,例如《煽動罪》或同等罪狀對付工會及骨幹成員。其中,香港言語治療師工會成為了《國安法》實施後,首個被取締、撤銷登記的工會組織。工會主席黎雯齡、副主席楊逸意等五理事會成員因出版《羊村十二勇士》刊物被當局以「發動煽動刊物」等罪名羈柙,至去年七月至今已被羈柙近一年。

國際勞工組織(ILO)多次指出,一個民主的體系對於行使結社自由及和平集會自由的權利至關重要。今天香港公民社會遭受前所未有的衝擊,組織工會、爭取工人權益等行動難以推進。

香港工運未來三大挑戰

在政治和法律風險日殛下,報告指出香港工會正面對三大挑戰,包括人才流失,行動掣肘及資金短缺。

報告引述有工會人士指,現時在招收和挽留會員等工作面對極大挑戰,有工會因為在白色恐怖下沒有人願意擔任理事,以致要被迫停止運作。《國安法》也大大局限了工會行動。有組織者表示,在計劃與其他工會或組織發表聯合聲明之前,也需要三思而後行,組織和充權工作更是「可免則免」。留任的組織者亦承受著巨大的心理壓力,許多工會組織者都面對心理健康問題,例如創傷後遺症、抑鬱、焦慮、失眠等。

資金短缺是工會面對的另一重大挑戰。在《國安法》實施後,當局修訂慈善機構的稅務指南,並納入國家安全要求,加強對公眾籌款活動的監管,令工會難以籌募經費。同時,當局正研究要求申請資助機構宣誓效忠特區政府,一旦實行,本地工會勢更難申請公營服務資助。另一邊廂,工會亦因《國安法》法律風險,避免與外國和國際組織推展合作項目。

獨立工運抗爭未止

在失去獨立工會的制衡下,香港政府施政只會進一步向商界傾斜,可以預期未來,工人權益將遭受更嚴重的剝削,但工人自發的勞資抗爭並不會因《國安法》對工人運動的打壓而完全息止。

去年,三十多名太古可口可樂工人在2021年五月發動罷工,反對公司大幅減薪;數十名建築工人以堵塞地盤出入口抗議承建商拖欠薪金;約300名Foodpanda送遞員發起罷工,成功令旗下的生活百貨購物平台Pandamart 陷入癱瘓。

雖然面對如此嚴厲的打撃,我們的戰友仍在香港抗爭,他們需要我們的關注,需要國際社會更多的聲援,我們會繼續將香港工運抗爭的訊息帶到國際,並在國際間尋求關注和支持。

蒙兆達

發佈留言

Your email address will not be published.

/

Press Release | Hong Kong Trade Union Movement under the National Security Law

3 mins read
Hong Kong trade unions hold the banner "Trade unions resists autocracy" in the protest on Jan 1, 2020
Hong Kong trade unions hold the banner "Trade unions resists autocracy" in the protest on Jan 1, 2020

Hong Kong’s independent trade union movement face unprecedented suppression under the city’s draconian National Security Law (NSL), Hong Kong Labour Rights Monitor said in a new report, exactly two years since the Beijing-imposed legislation took effect.

“Hong Kong Trade Union Movement under the National Security Law: Two years into the authoritarian rule”, documents the authorities’ relentless attack to silence and criminalize the city’s once thriving independent labour movement.

Under the overly vague and broad definition of the NLS, the authorities have waged a campaign of repression, with union leaders detained, legitimate union activities restricted, and intimidation and harassment to force unions to disband.

The intention of the authorities is clear: it is to use the National Security Law to obliterate Hong Kong’s independent trade unions, and to smear all international solidarity between workers as “collusion with foreign forces”, isolating the popular labour movement in Hong Kong.”

Mung Siu-tat, Executive Director of Hong Kong Labour Rights Monitor.

A Sword of Damocles over Hong Kong’s Trade Unions

Since the introduction of the NSL on 30 June 2020, at least 62 unions have been forced to disband; one trade union’s registration was revoked, and 11 union organisers have been arrested or charged. They include the former chairperson of the Hong Kong Confederation of Trade Unions, Carol Ng Man-yee. She has been detained since March 2021. The National Security judge presiding over her case declined Ng’s bail application owing to the “international influence” of her trade union organising work. The lengthy pre-trial detention impedes the right to a fair trial and contravenes international human rights laws and standards such as International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR).

The report highlights how the dissolution of the Hong Kong Professional Teachers’ Union (HKPTU) and the Hong Kong Confederation of Trade Unions (HKCTU) follow the Chinese Communist Party’s playbook to crush the city’s independent labour movement.

First, state-controlled media outlets launched sweeping smear campaigns against trade unions leaders before coordinating with Hong Kong law enforcement to make high-profile allegations that the targeted union organisations may have violated the NSL. Then, the regime dispatched their proxies, acting as “middlemen”, to threaten and pressure union organisers and leaders disbanding their organisations.

Draconian colonial-era laws

The NSL is not the only weapon the authorities now use to silence Hong Kong’s labour movement. The research highlights that the Hong Kong government has also used various draconian sedition laws and other similar criminal offences, which were passed during colonial British rule, to target unions and their core members.

The plight of the General Union of Hong Kong Speech Therapists, which was the first trade union to be disqualified and de-registered after the imposition of the NSL, is highlighted in the new report.

The union’s chairperson Lai Man-ling and deputy chairperson Melody Yeung Yat-yee were among the five union committee members arrested on the charge of “print[ing], publish[ing], [distributing], display[ing] and/or [reproducing] seditious publications” for their publication of the “Sheep Village” series of children’s books. They have been denied bail and have remained in custody since July, 2021.

The International Labour Organisation has repeatedly stressed that a democratic political system is essential to ensure the exercise of the rights to freedom of association and peaceful assembly. As Hong Kong’s civil society endures unprecedented attacks, it has become extremely hard to organise workers to join unions nor activities to fight for labour rights.

Fight for survival

The report outlines three major challenges Hong Kong’s labour movement must overcome if it is to survive: the loss of experienced organisers, severe restrictions on union activities, and shortage of sustainable funds.

The sweeping and vague NSL has created a chilling effect. Union members face great difficulties in recruiting and retaining members. Some trade unions have been forced to cease operations because it is too risky to assume a formal leadership position in such a hostile political climate.

Labour activists are now fearful of undertaking legitimate activities – such as issuing joint statements. Other activities such as organising are now avoided as they are now deemed too risky and more easily be construed as violations of the NSL. Many union organisers said they suffered from mental health problems, including post-traumatic stress disorder, depression, anxiety and insomnia.

Trade unions face a funding crisis due to the imposition of the NSL. The Hong Kong government has incorporated national security requirements into the tax guide for charitable institutions and trusts, making it difficult for trade unions to raise funds to cover operating costs. Hong Kong labour unions are also prevented from collaborating with foreign and international organisations due to the legal risks posed by the “collusion with foreign powers” offence under the NSL, carries a maximum sentence of life imprisonment.

The government is also expected to introduce a requirement for people who apply for public funding to pledge allegiance to the government. This will make it difficult for local trade unions to apply funds to provide public services.

The fight continues

Without a robust trade union movement as the checks and balances to its governance, the Hong Kong government will further favour and incline to large corporations. Workers are thus more vulnerable to exploitation. Nonetheless, Hong Kong’s courageous labour activists are still standing up for their rights.

In the past year: dozens of Coca-Cola workers staged a strike against pay cuts; construction workers used trucks to block a construction site to protest against wage arrears; 300 riders of Foodpanda staged a 2-day strike and paralysed the delivery giant’s on-demand grocery service Pandamart.

Despite this unprecedented suppression, our comrades in Hong Kong are still fighting. They need your attention and solidarity. We are here to amplify their voices and seek international support for our brothers and sisters in Hong Kong defending workers’ rights,

Mung Siu-Tat

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.